Where have you been?

20200710_182854A few people  have been asking me where have I been since October, the date of my last post.  In terms of illustration, I was lucky enough to be the guest artist at the poetry festival in Aldeburgh in November. For three days, I sat and drew poets and listened to them reading. It was an immersion of the best kind. At the same time, I printed 50 copies of a draft of the childrens’ story on which I have been working on and off for 14 years…I gave a few away, sold a few in a shop in the village but felt it still wasn’t right. In March I met up with Pam Smy, my tutor on the masters course. We got to grips with what wasn’t working, including how I put paint on paper. I found that my colours got smudged into one another. So I put my favourite palettes to one side and switched to tubes of water colour instead. I spent the whole of lockdown re-painting pages (action list below).

20200713_221740 I hope that the story will be read as I really like the character of Inga. Feisty but soft. 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment